Record Reviews
Sunday, 03 May 2020 18:53

Record tasting when May is still young

Written by

Folk and contemporary music are the two main ingredients of this week's record tasting. But as is often the case, most genre borders are provoked. Not to say all of them …

Monday, 27 April 2020 05:08

Record tasting late in April

Written by

The spring is around, and record releases continue to flow. I've tasted a handful of them, and some of the select ones had to wait to the next round.

Wednesday, 01 April 2020 05:43

Bitches Brew's 50th Anniversary on March 30th

Written by

The legendary album Bitches Brew by Miles Davis has its 50th anniversary on March 30th. It is a milestone in the history of jazz, or perhaps rather in the transformation from jazz to rock.

Sunday, 22 March 2020 16:54

Record tasting in a Korona atmosphere

Written by

We are in a time where the Korona virus and news about this theme dominate our existence. Then it is extra important to infiltrate this massive impression with music. And fortunately we are talking about music guaranteed to be free of infection, but with great potential for involving effect.

Okay, not all of the tasting happened on Mother's Day. A little poaching in advance is necessary, but it does not detract from the fact that this became a mundane Mother's Day party.

Tuesday, 31 December 2019 11:07

Records of the year 2019

Written by

On the last day of the year, I take a look back at 2019, and select the very best records I've reviewed during this year. It has been a brutal process to have to reduce the selection to ten discs - there is an incredible amount of good music that has passed my keyboard over the past year. The order of this list is chronological. Enjoy the reading!

This Sunday we have come to Chicago VIII, perhaps one of the most anonymous albums from Chicago to that date, with the exception of a couple of tunes.

This time we've come to what is perhaps the most interesting of all the Chicago studio albums. Because there is a lot going on here, both on the record and in the scenes.

After an absence of nearly 5 years, the time is right to continue to feature Chicago albums in the series Chicago on a Sunday. We've come to Chicago VI, the album where the very first signs of a future change of style emerge

 

Iceland Symphony Orchestra has a new release on the label Sono Luminus. This is the label's first release with soundtracks in Dolby Atmos.

Composer Ken Thomson has released an LP with two of his compositions. I have been listening to the album Restless.

 

Tacet have reissued the album Pictures & Reflections on Blu-ray Audio. Markus Schirmer has recorded the suite Miroirs by Ravel, and the legendary Pictures at an Exhibition by Mussorgsky. I have been listening to the record.

 

 

Marita Sølberg is a significant soprano within the world of opera. Now Simax have released her first solo album, and I've listened to it.

 

Auryn Quartet is an old acquaintance from the German label TACET. This time they have teamed up with the prolific violinist Nobuko Imai to make a box with complete recordings of Mozart's string quartets.

 

The Wall hardly needs any introduction, but we can still take a summary presentation for late arrivals among the music listeners. The album The Wall was one of Pink Floyd's Three gratest releases of all times, along with Dark Side of the Moon and Wish You Were Here. Some would like to claim that it even surpasses "Dark Side", at least if one take into account the Wall's importance as a political and socially critical element.

Tuesday, 23 June 2015 07:43

RECORD REVIEW: Truls Mørk - Cello Concertos

Written by

Kristian Ferenc Sylthe is a young, talented cellist. Here is his debut as a guest writer with a record review at Audiophile.no, and we hope to bring more articles from his keyboard at later occations each. Read his review of Truls Mørk's performance of Shostakovich's Cello Concerts.

 

 

The Dirty Callahans have published two CDs before. This time they have chosen to release an LP, and I have listened to Never Get Ahead.

Saturday, 25 April 2015 12:54

RECORD REVIEW: We Float - Silence

Written by

The Norwegian-Swedish band We Float are about to release their debut album Silence. It comes both as LP and digital download, and I've listened to the digital version.

The Bergen band Ugler i Mosen release a CD with dialect-prog. At least this is their own characteristics, but is it real?

Thursday, 29 January 2015 09:16

Belafonte in Carniege Hall

Written by

For many years I have tried to collect old pressings of magnificent recordings. I have thought that the old pressings were better than those who came later, simply because they are created by master tapes that were far fresher when they were new, than what they have been gradually. But, here's a frightening experience for us who have collected on the old ones for many years .. About original pressings.

Tuesday, 27 January 2015 05:38

RECORD REVIEW: Alfred Schnittke - 3rd Symphony

Written by

Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Vladimir Jurowski have recorded Alfred Schnittke's Third Symphony. It is released as SACD on PENTATONE.

Page 1 of 4